

## **News Release**

Contact: Gene McGee, Mayor

601.856.7113 (Office) / 601.856/7819 (Fax)

Mayor.McGee@RidgelandMS.org

## **Unveiling of Ridgeland Historical Marker**

**Ridgeland, Mississippi** (May 30, 2014, 2014) - The public is invited to join Ridgeland officials and the Historical Society of Ridgeland at 11:00 a.m. on Tuesday, June 17, at Olde Towne Ridgeland Plaza for the unveiling of the Ridgeland Historical Marker. Olde Towne Ridgeland Plaza is located on West Jackson Street at the intersection with North East Madison Drive, just to the east of the railroad tracks.

The marker is the result of a successful collaboration between the Mayor and Board of Aldermen of Ridgeland and the members of the Historical Society of Ridgeland. The marker briefly presents the story of the history of Ridgeland, beginning in 1832 and including the purchase of property by various owners, the coming of the Illinois Central Railroad, and the incorporation of the city of Ridgeland in 1899. Descendants of some of the early settlers of Ridgeland will be present and recognized. Exhibits, available for viewing after the ceremony, will feature the Ridgeland Town Charter, historical maps, and historical photographs.

Mayor Gene McGee stated, "Ridgeland officials are pleased that the history of Ridgeland is highlighted in this marker which recalls the growth and attraction of Ridgeland in the past that continues today to appeal to those looking for an ideal place to call home."

Nancy Batson, President of the Historical Society of Ridgeland (HSR), commented, "Since its founding in 2009, a major goal of the HSR has been to educate the public about the history of Ridgeland and to preserve that history for future generations to appreciate; this marker represents a visible means of achieving that goal."

In case of inclement weather, the unveiling ceremony for the marker will be moved to the Fellowship Hall of the First United Methodist Church of Ridgeland, 234 West Jackson Street.

Officers of the Historical Society of Ridgeland are as follows:

President: Nancy Batson

Vice President: Reverend Tom Sorrell

Secretary: Pat Truesdale Treasurer: Robby Carr Curator: Polly Hammett Publicity: Donna Dye

City Liaison: Sandra Monahan

###